Kansas Information

Insurance Agents

Once a producer receives a license, that producer must satisfy continuing education requirements. Continuing education requirements for Kansas resident producers will change effective January 1, 2022. The following chart shows current CE requirements based on lines of authority held by a licensee. Producers whose biennial renewal date is prior to January 1, 2022, will need to meet these requirements.

 

TABLE 1 – CURRENT CE REQUIREMENTS    
LINE OF AUTHORITY HOURS             REQUIRED COURSE TYPE
Life and/or Health* 12 Life/Health
Property and/or Casualty* 12 Property/Casualty
Crop Only 2 Crop
Title Only 4 Title
Pre-need Only Affirm pre-need business only ‡

*Such requirement shall include at least one hour of instruction in ethics. No more than three Continuing Education Credits can be in insurance agency management.
‡ Kansas law requires that each individual holding a life license solely for the purpose of selling pre-need insurance shall file a report affirming that no other insurance business was transacted during the current renewal period, and upon the request of the Commissioner, shall provide a certification from each company that has appointed the agent that the agent transacted no other business. No continuing education hours are required to renew the limited lines license of pre-need. Affirmation may be provided online via Producer Desktop.

After July 1, 2021, a producer’s biennial due date will change from their birth date to the last day of their birth month, in an even or odd year, depending on whether the producer was born in an even or odd year. Such due date shall not be earlier than two years following the producer’s initial licensure.

The following CE requirements must be met for Kansas resident producers whose biennial renewal dates are after January 1, 2022:*

TABLE 2 – CE REQUIREMENTS AFTER JANUARY 1, 2022    
LINE OF AUTHORITY HOURS               REQUIRED COURSE TYPE
Single or dual major lines** 18 3 Ethics; remainder at producer’s discretion†
Crop Only 2 Crop
Title Only 4 Title
Pre-need Only Affirm pre-need business only ‡

* Note: Producers may renew their license (if they have appropriate CE credit) up to 90 days prior to their biennial renewal date. Producers with biennial renewal dates after January 1, 2022, but who renew within their 90- day window prior to January 1, 2022, must comply with the CE requirements in effect prior to January 1, 2022 (as shown in Table I, above). Those renewing after January 1, 2022, must comply with the CE requirements shown in Table II. Examples:

  • single lines licensed agent with a renewal date in the first 90 days of 2022 will need 12 hours of CE if the renewal is processed prior to December 31, 2021. If the renewal is processed after December 31, 2021, the agent will need 18 hours of CE.
  • dual-lines licensed agent with a renewal date in the first 90 days of 2022 will need 24 hours of CE if the renewal is processed prior to December 31, 2021. If the renewal is processed after December 31, 2021, the agent will need 18 hours of CE.

** Major lines are Life and/or Health Authority, Property and/or Casualty, Personal.

† The hours must be approved for CE credit by the Kansas Insurance Department. There is no limit for the number of hours of “Insurance Agency Management” (IAM) courses an agent may take.

‡ Resident Producers who hold a limited line license for pre-need do not have a CE requirement; however, at their biennial renewal date they must provide a certification from an officer of each insurance company that has appointed the producer that certifies the producer transacted no other insurance business during the renewal period.

 

Resident/Public Adjusters

  • -Resident Public Adjusters must satisfy continuing education requirements. Public Adjusters must complete 12 hours of approved property/casualty credit every two years. The hours must have at least one hour must be instruction in insurance ethics, and no more than three hours can be in insurance agency management
  • -Nonresident Public Adjusters must satisfy designated home state continuing education requirement
  • -$100 license renewal fee (resident & non-resident)
  • -Public Adjuster license will renew their license on the biennial due date
  • -The biennial due date is the adjuster’s birth date in each odd year for adjusters born in an odd-numbered year or each even year for adjusters born in an even-numbered year. -For newly licensed adjusters, such due date shall not be earlier than two years from the date of the initial licensure
  • -Course certificates must be submitted to the Insurance Department prior to the biennial due date